CRWAD Business Meeting Minutes - DRAFT Monday, January 22, 2024 Chicago Downtown Marriott Magnificent Mile 540 Michigan Avenue, Chicago, Il

President Annette O'Connor called the CRWAD business meeting to order at 3:34 pm (central time).

President Annette O'Connor asked the members to observe a moment of silence for members who passed away in the previous year.

President Annette O'Connor thanked the sponsors of the 2024 Conference for their support.

President Annette O'Connor recognized the members of the 2024 CRWAD Council and thanked them for the contributions to the Conference and this year's meeting.

President Annette O'Connor recognized CRWAD executive director Paul Morley and administrative support from Jennifer Stalley and Michael Linngren for their contributions to the Conference.

President Annette O'Connor recognized and thanked the 2024 Conference program committee. Appreciation was expressed for the members of the committee and members were reminded that the membership rotates off on staggered basis. Members wishing to serve on the program committee should notify the Council.

President Annette O'Connor recognized and thanked Midwest Solutions, Preseria, and Fourwaves for their additional support of the meeting.

President Annette O'Connor asked the members to review the 2023 membership meeting minutes. There being no objection to the minutes as presented, the minutes were deemed approved.

President Annette O'Connor recognized and thanked the 2024 Fellows Selection Committee. The CRWAD Fellows program recognizes CRWAD members with distinguished achievements in original research related to animal health and disease, population health, and translational medicine and represent an eminent cadre of scientists from all types of research careers, including academia, industry, and government. Six CRWAD Fellows were selected for induction in 2024.

President Annette O'Connor recognized the Distinguished Career Recipients for the Conference. The awards were presented during the AAVI, AVEPM, and ACVM symposiums.

President Annette O'Connor introduced the 2024 nominations committee. Dr. David Renter nominated the 2024-2025 CRWAD officers as President, Dr. Rebecca Wilkes, President, Dr. Weipang Zhang, Vice President, Dr. Glenn Zhang, at-large, Dr. John Angelos, at-large, Dr. Jun Lin, at-large, and Dr. Natalia Cernicchiaro, at-large. Seconded by Dr. Brandy Burgess. There were no other nominations from the floor. Motion passed.

Executive Director Morley gave the executive director's report. Morley reported on the registration numbers and presentation numbers for the 2024 meeting. Registrations totaled 590 and presentations totaled 460 with 1,893 unique authors.

Executive Director Morley thanked the partner organizations participating in the Conference. American Association of Veterinary Immunologists; American College of Veterinary Microbiologists; Association for Veterinary and Preventative Medicine, and US Animal Vaccinology Research Coordination Network all contributed to the content of this year's Conference.

Executive Director Morley also thanked the partner organizations providing support for the student award competition for the Conference. Animal Health Institute/Joseph J. Garbino Foundation Biosafety & Biosecurity; American Association of Veterinary Immunologists; American College of Veterinary Microbiologists; American College of Veterinary Parasitologists; Association for Veterinary and Preventative Medicine NC1202 Enteric Diseases of Food; and Society for Tropical Veterinary Medicine all conducted student award competitions for the Conference.

Executive Director Morley announced the future Conference dates of January 18 – 21, 2025; at the Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile Hotel and Conference Center. The keynote speakers for the 2025 Conference are being confirmed. Morley announced Dr. Phil Santangelo will be the keynote speaker for the meeting. A special symposium on Applications of mRNA Technologies in Animal Health Research will be part of the Conference. Dr. Armin Saalmüller is the AAVI Distinguished Immunologist, Dr. John Ellis is the ACVM Distinguished Veterinary Microbiologist, and Dr. Jan Scarlett is the AVEPM Calvin Schwabe Symposium for the Conference. Other featured and symposium speakers will be announced in the coming weeks.

Executive Director Morely reported that two Council members reviewed the financial documents of the organization and found the finances to be in order. The financial report was presented to the membership. There being no objection, the financial report was deemed approved.

President Annette O'Connor addressed the membership. She thanked the membership for its support of the Conference and encouraged senior scientists to continue to prioritize and support the Conference by encouraging students to participate.

Vice President Rebecca Wilkes thanked President Annette O'Connor for her dedication to the organization and presented her with a plaque in appreciation for her service.

Executive Director Morley thanked the members for their dedication to CRWAD and reminded the membership of the next Conference date of January 18-21, 2025.

President Annette O'Connor adjourned the meeting at 4:14 pm (central time).