2018 CRWAD Honors and Awards

–   2018 CRWAD Dedicatee: Ronald Schultz
–   2018 Distinguished Veterinary Immunologist: Laurel Gershwin
–   2018 Distinguished Veterinary Microbiologist: Ab Osterhaus
–   2018 Calvin Schwabe Award: Alfonso Torres

2018 CRWAD Dedicatee: 

Ronald D. Schultz, PhD
Professor Emeritus, University of Wisconsin

Photo by: Jeff Miller

We are pleased to announce that CRWAD 2018 will be dedicated to Professor Emeritus Ronald D. Schultz.  Ron received his PhD in microbiology at Penn State (1970) under the direction of Dr. Howard Dunne. He held faculty appointments at Cornell and Auburn Schools of Veterinary Medicine before becoming Founding Chair of the Department of Pathobiological Sciences at the new School of Veterinary Medicine in 1982. He served as Chair for 31 years and retired to Emeritus status in 2016.  Throughout his career, Ron emphasized the translational aspects of immunological research, especially the development and assessment of immunodiagnostics and vaccines in domestic animal species. Ron was an enthusiastic supporter of CRWAD for 50 years and served as President in 1994. He led development of the American Association of Veterinary Immunologists and served as its first President in 1979. Ron has received numerous awards including the first Distinguished Veterinary Immunologist Award in 1988, and being named an Honorary Diplomate of the American College of Veterinary Microbiologists. He instilled dedication to CRWAD in his trainees and faculty, many of whom continue to attend and support CRWAD.


2018 Distinguished Veterinary Immunologist: 

Laurel J. Gershwin, DVM, PhD, Diplomate ACVM
Professor, University of California – Davis

The American Association of Veterinary Immunologists (AAVI) is pleased to announce that Dr. Laurel Gershwin has been named as the 20018 Distinguished Veterinary Immunologist.  Dr. Gershwin received her DVM from the University of California, Davis in 1971. After an internship at the Angell Memorial Animal Hospital in Boston, MA and two years in private veterinary practice, she returned to UCD where in 1979 she obtained a PhD in Microbiology, with an emphasis in Immunology. Dr. Gershwin took and passed the board examination in virology, immunology, and bacteriology/mycology to become a diplomate of the American College of Veterinary Microbiologists in 1980.  She has been a faculty member at the School of Veterinary Medicine, UCD since 1979 and has taught Immunology to students of Veterinary Medicine for 38 years. Dr. Gershwin’s research has emphasized immune responses in the lung with particular emphasis on IgE mediated pathogenesis, Bovine Respiratory Syncytial Virus, and associated vaccinology.


2018 Distinguished Veterinary Microbiologist: 

Ab Osterhaus, DVM, PhD
Professor and Director, Research Center for Emerging Infections and Zoonoses, University of Veterinary Medicine Hannover, Germany.

The American College of Veterinary Microbiology (ACVM) is pleased to announce that Professor Ab Osterhaus has been selected as the 2018 Distinguished Veterinary Microbiologist.  As professor of Virology in Hannover, Rotterdam and Utrecht, Dr. Osterhaus has a long track record as an internationally recognized scientific researcher and principal investigator of numerous major scientific projects. Currently, Prof. Osterhaus is founding director of the newly established Research Center for Emerging Infections and Zoonoses (RIZ) at the University of Veterinary Medicine Hannover, Germany. As former head of the Department of Viroscience of the Erasmus Medical Center in Rotterdam, he guided on a daily basis over 100 scientists in their quest for scientific excellence. His research programme followed a novel integrated “viroscience” concept, bringing together world-leading scientists in molecular virology, immunology, epidemiology, pathogenesis, and intervention studies on human and animal virus infections. Major achievements of his work include the discovery of more than 60 new human and animal viruses (e.g. human metapneumovirus, coronaviruses, influenza viruses), elucidation of the pathogenesis of major human and animal virus infections, and development of innovative intervention strategies. His work has enabled health authorities, as WHO, to combat disease outbreaks like SARS, MERS and avian influenza. As Chief Scientific Officer at Viroclinics Biosciences BV, Osterhaus leads effective testing and refining of preventive, therapeutic, and diagnostic tools. He has been mentor for more than 80 PhD students, holds several key patents, and is the author of more than 1200 papers in peer-reviewed journals.  Most of all, Ab Osterhaus firmly believes scientists have a role to play in translating their knowledge for the benefit and protection of society.

2018 Calvin W. Schwabe Award for Lifetime Achievement in Veterinary Epidemiology and Preventive Medicine: 

Alfonso Torres, DVM, MS, PhD
Professor Emeritus, Cornell University

Dr. Alfonso Torres is the 2018 recipient of the Calvin W. Schwabe Award, presented by the Association for Veterinary Epidemiology and Preventive Medicine (AVEPM).  Dr. Torres is a native of Colombia, and received his DVM from the National University of Colombia, his MS degree in veterinary pathology from the University of Nebraska, and a PhD in medical microbiology, specializing in virology, from the University of Nebraska Medical Center.  Dr. Torres served as Deputy Administrator of USDA-APHIS-Veterinary Services from 1999 to 2002.  In that capacity he was also the United States’ Chief Veterinary Officer and the US delegate to the World Organization for Animal Health (OIE). From 1996 to 1999, Dr. Torres was the Director of the Plum Island Animal Disease Center on Plum Island, NY. While at PIADC, Dr. Torres also served as chief of USDA’s Foreign Animal Disease Diagnostic Laboratory from1994 to1996.  Prior to working for the USDA, Dr. Torres served as a veterinary virologist on the faculty of University of Nebraska and Cornell University from 1978-1987, and then worked for SmithKline Beecham Animal Health from 1987-1991.  Dr. Torres returned to Cornell University in 2003 to serve as Professor and Associate Dean for Public Policy at the College of Veterinary Medicine, retiring in 2015.  Among Dr. Torres’ awards are the 1998 “Daniel E.  Salmon Award”, presented by US Secretary of Agriculture; a 2001 “Meritorious Executive” award presented by President George W. Bush; the 2010 “Karl F. Meyer-James H. Steele Gold Head Cane Award” from the American Veterinary Epidemiological Society; and the 2010 “USDA-APHIS Administrator Award”.

The Calvin W. Schwabe Award recognizes lifetime achievement in veterinary epidemiology and preventive medicine.  Previous recipients of this prestigious award include Drs. Calvin Schwabe, Robert Anderson, James Steele, S. Wayne Martin, Clive Gay, David Hird, Hollis Erb, Preben Willeberg, Dale Hancock, Ian Dohoo, Yrjo Grohn, Roger Morris, Will Hueston, and Ian Gardner.