2020 Student Award Winners

Congratulations to our 2020 Student Award Winners!

American College of Veterinary Microbiologists Awards (ACVM)

  • Servane Payen– Abstract # 277- “Role of maturation of lipoproteins in the pathogenesis of the infection caused by Streptococcus suis
  • Taylor Heckman– Abstract #507- “We’ve got a live one! Generation of a live-attenuated vaccine to piscine streptococcosis”
  • Mai Farghaly, Abstract #169- “Examination of the horizontal gene transfer dynamics of an integrative and conjugative element in Histophilus somni
  • Widaliz Vega Rodriguez– Abstract #274- “The role of the conserved alphaherpesvirus glycoprotein C in host-to-host transmission”
  • Maverick Aradanas– Abstract #353-“Study of virulence factors and antimicrobial resistance in S. suis isolates using whole genome sequencing”



American Association of Veterinary Immunologists (AAVI)

  • Jayne Wiarda– Abstract #379- “Single cell and deep transcriptomic analysis identify common and cell type specific genes in porcine immune cell”
  • Pooja Choudhary– Abstract #537- “Immune responses in pigs following repeated intrauterine vaccination and passive protection in piglets”
  • Graham Redweik– Abstract #374- “Reserpine increases Salmonella resistance in chicken intestinal explants via norepinephrine release”
  • Mareva Bleuze– Abstract #365- “The G-CSF produced by sentinel immune cells induces neutrophil mobilization during Streptococcus suis infection”
  • Kezia Fourie- Abstract #539- “Evaluation of antigen candidates for a Lawsonia intracellularis subunit vaccine”
  • Jamison Slate- Abstract #393- “Prophylactic ursolic acid treatment modulates inflammatory responses during Mannheimia haemolytica infection”

The Animal Health Institute and Joseph J. Garbarino Foundation Biosafety and Biosecurity Awards

  • C. Elijah– Abstract #140- “African swine fever virus distribution in a feed mill after manufacture of virus-inoculated feed”
  • Gabrielle Miller– Abstract #491- “Insights into antimicrobial resistance and virulence in Salmonella spp. from snake samples through genomic approach”



NC1202 Enteric Diseases of Food Animals Awards

  • Xiaoyu Niu– Abstract #563- “Mutation in the exoribonuclease of porcine epidemic diarrhea virus causes high genetic instability”
  • Kush Kumar Yadav– Abstract #555- “Ectopic expression of genotype-1 Hepatitis E virus ORF4 increases genotype-3 HEV viral replication in cell culture”
  • Rachel Soltys– Abstract #493- “High-resolution comparative genomics identifies Salmonella Kentucky ST198 and ST152 lineage-specific mutations”

Association for Veterinary Epidemiology and Preventive Medicine Awards (AVEPM) 

  • Min Zhang–  Abstract #183- “Bayesian latent class mixture model with censoring for correlation in antimicrobial resistance across populations”
  • Sejin Cheong– Abstract #315- “Survey of management and animal health practices on organic dairy herds in California”


The American Association of Veterinary Parasitologists (AAVP)

  • Macy Flowers–  Abstract #297 – “Investigating the occurance of transplacental Anaplasma marginale transmission in endemic beef cattle herds”

Society for Tropical Veterinary Medicine (STVM)

  • Kyle Hoffman– Abstract #443- “Protein antigens associated with seroreactivity of cattle producing reduced tick performance”


back to top